The Atkins diet

>> Friday, September 26, 2008

Around since the 70's, this diet has four phases to promote successful weight loss. phases one lasts for 14 days and phases the body into ketosis (monitored by using ketostix).it is during the period that the body produces a fat mobilizing subtance that encourage it to burn fat for energy.During this stage all fruits and vegetables are avoided and the carbohydrate intake is limited to 20 grams a phases two the diet becomes less restrictive.Carb are increased to 40 grams a day and vegetables are added.During this phases you establish how many carb you can get away with eating before you gain weight back.Phases three is known as the pre-maintenance phases and begins when you are 5 to 10 pounds from target weight.carbohydrate intake is maintained at the highest level your body will allow and wight loss will be slower.The final maintenance phases is where you will remain for the rest of your live.
Food to avoid are sugar and processed food such as bread,pasta and starchy vegetables.Dieters are encouraged to eat unprocessed foods such as meat,chicken and fish along with nutrient-rich supplement to obtain vitamins their diet does not provide.Alcohol is discouraged due to the carbs in it.

Sample Daily Diet (For phase one)

Breafast:Sugarless sausage or bacon and eggs with black decaf coffee or tea
Lunch: Cheeseburger without the bun,salad with just letuce a low carb dressing.seltser water to
Dinner: Salmon or chicken and a lettuce salad.seltzer water to drink.


About This Blog

About This Blog

  © Blogger template Shiny by 2008

Back to TOP